Telephone directory

Area Codes by State or Territory

02 New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory (Sydney, Canberra)

03 Victoria, Tasmania (Melbourne, Hobart)

07 Queensland (Brisbane)

08 Western Australia, South Australia, Northern Territory (Perth, Adelaide, Darwin)


04 is the code for all mobile phone numbers in Australia

The Australian country code is +61.

When calling from outside Australia, leave out the leading '0' from the STD area code or from the mobile telephone number.

For example when calling Perth from outside Australia:

Dial +61 8 (followed by the local eight digit number)


For example when calling a mobile from outside Australia:

Dial +61 4 (followed by the eight digits of the mobile number)


International calls from Australia;

The outgoing IDD access code from within Australia is 0011

You need to dial this number before the code of the country you are calling.

For example to call New Zealand from Australia, dial 001 64 followed by the phone number.



tAustralian Phone Books
tAustralian Phone Books